A Party! Our PhD turns 25

The English Language and Literature Department will be hosting a celebration of the Twenty-Fifth anniversary of the founding of its PhD program. The program was and remains unique in its blending of Literature and Rhetoric and has successfully graduated fifty-six students into academic and other careers. The celebration will be held in the SAF Atrium in Hagey Hall on Friday, September 11, 5:30 to 7:30. Light refreshments and a cash bar will be available. All former students of the program, faculty, and friends of the Department are invited.

Speakers will include:

Kate Lawson (Chair 2015-present)
Gordon Slethaug (Graduate Chair 1976-1985, Chair 1985-1994)
Linda Warley (Graduate Chair 2001-2003)
Kathy Acheson (Graduate Chair 2003-2006)
Victoria Lamont (Graduate Chair 2006-2009)
Ken Hirschkop (Graduate Chair 2009-2011)
Randy Harris (Graduate Chair 2011-2014)
SAGE Representative (2015)
Aimée Morrison (Graduate Chair 2014-present)

And if you are curious, you can find out more about past PhD graduates and where they are now here.

Image credit: Etsy.


2 responses to “A Party! Our PhD turns 25

  1. Congratulations to a unique and diverse program!

  2. Pingback: The UWaterloo English Department on Buzzfeed?! |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s