A reading by award-winning author Miriam Toews

PST032511-Toews4.jpgOn Wednesday, November 26th Miriam Toews will read from her bestselling new novel All My Puny Sorrows at Conrad Grebel University College, on the campus of the University of Waterloo. Winner of the Governor General’s Award for A Complicated Kindness, Toews’ most recent novel returns to a cast of Mennonites with a tight-knit family wrestling through urgent questions of life, death, and the power to choose.

Miriam Toews is author of six novels, including A Boy of Good Breeding (winner of the McNally Robinson Book of the Year award); A Complicated Kindness (winner of the Governor General’s Award, and Canada Reads); The Flying Troutmans (winner of the Rogers Writers’ Trust award), and a memoir, Swing Low. Her most recent novel is the 2014 bestseller All My Puny Sorrows.

Toews appears as part of  “Mennonite/s Writing 2014-2015,” a seven session reading series showcasing new work by some of the most prominent authors in the field, including: Rudy Wiebe, Jeff Gundy, Patrick Friesen, Di Brandt, David Bergen, and Carrie Snyder.

The New Mennonite/s Writing series at Conrad Grebel, promises seven evenings of compelling literature with some of Canada’s most celebrated authors. The series will be hosted by Robert Zacharias, Assistant Editor of The Journal of Mennonite Studies and Banting Postdoctoral Fellow in the English Department at the University of Waterloo.

Location: Conrad Grebel University Chapel, UWaterloo Campus, 140 Westmount Road North Waterloo, ON N2L 3G6 Canada

Image credit. Text from Mennonite/s Writing.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s