A Week in the Life of a Graduate Student: Jen Doyle


JDoyle

I asked Jen Doyle if she’d be kind enough to write about one week in the life of a PhD student. She surpassed all expectations by not only providing charts, but then by analyzing those charts. Scroll down to the bottom to find out how theory and practice can really diverge in graduate school. Thanks again to Jen for the content and analysis.–JLH

doyle_phd_week

Observations:
*Lost time to unexpected interruptions (student loan, lost library books – WPL and TUG, lost keys, outside construction, physiotherapy – which I am grateful for, coffee runs, etc).
**“Freedom” blocks the internet for a specific period of time and helps keep me from responding to student emails, key control, looking at food blogs, etc).
***Having dietary restrictions and needing to make my own food takes time and makes it harder to spend the day away from home without a great deal of preparation. I realize I’m not the only one who has to do this but it is still time consuming and frustrating.
This was a moderately successful week. Saturday morning turns into a work date usually to help me catch up on everything I didn’t get done through the week. And I usually spend at least a half hour reviewing the previous day’s work on Sunday so I can just start on Monday without wasting too much time.

2 responses to “A Week in the Life of a Graduate Student: Jen Doyle

  1. Pingback: A Week in the Life of a Grad Student: Phil Miletic |

  2. Pingback: A Week in the Life of a Graduate Student: Kent Aardse |

Leave a Reply

