Meet Banting Post-doctoral fellow Dr. Rob Zacharias


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My name is Rob Zacharias, and I’m thrilled to be joining the UWaterloo’s English Language and Literature team as a Banting Postdoctoral Fellow for the next two years. My primary research interests are in Canadian literature, migration and transnationalism, as well as in Mennonites studies.

At UW, I’ll be working with Winfried Siemerling on a project that considers Mennonite Writing in North America as a case study in transnational literary cultures. I’m looking forward to teaching a grad course next spring that will explore what happens to Canadian literature when it is considered in a hemispheric frame. We’ll be taking the active field of Mennonite writing as our case study, and, given the field’s deep ties to the Kitchener-Waterloo area, I’m hoping to plan some field trips and author visits.

I’m coming to UWaterloo from the Centre for Diaspora and Transnational Studies at the University of Toronto, where I spent the last two years as a Postdoctoral Fellow. My work at UT focused on diasporic return narratives, in work by authors like Lawrence Hill, M.G. Vassanji, and Neil Bissoondath. Before my time at UT, I completed my PhD at the University of Guelph, where I worked out of TransCanada Institute. I still live in Guelph with my partner and our three children. I’ll be on campus regularly, and look forward to meeting faculty, staff, and students. Please drop in and say hello!

Please join me in welcoming Dr. Zacharias to the department.

4 responses to “Meet Banting Post-doctoral fellow Dr. Rob Zacharias

  1. Pingback: Mennonites & Migration: Book Launch for Dr. Rob Zacharias |

  2. Pingback: Announcing Fall Speaker’s Series |

  3. Pingback: Welcoming the newest Banting postdoc, Dr. Derek Gladwin |

Leave a Reply

